Open Accessibility Menu

St. John's Health Board of Trustees Appoints Five Individuals to Key Volunteer Board Roles

The St. John's Health (SJH) Board of Trustees recently tapped into significant community expertise and interest to fill five key volunteer board positions. In January, Jim Hunt and Vance Vanier, MD were appointed as new Board Advisors, and Katharine Conover-Keller was appointed to fill a Trustee vacancy created by the resignation of Trustee Joe Albright. In February, the Board appointed Pamela Cutler, MD, and Evan Jones as additional Board Advisors after voting to expand the number of advisor positions available.

"With the growing complexity of rural health care delivery, Board Advisors have become a critical resource," said Board Chair Cynthia Hogan. "Our community is extremely fortunate that our appointment process for filling the Trustee vacancy brought forth several highly talented individuals who are willing to volunteer their expertise as Board Advisors,” added Board Vice Chair Debby Hopkins.

Collectively, the new board leaders represent diverse areas including medicine, science, human services, and finance. "In addition to their professional and educational achievements, the appointed individuals were selected based on their care and compassion for the wellbeing of the SJH staff, patients, and community," said Hogan. "We are being joined by experienced leaders who have demonstrated that they lead with both head and heart."

New to their roles at St. John's Health

Katherine Conover Keller

Katharine Conover-Keller, Trustee

Katharine is a longtime resident who retired recently after 14 years as President of the Community Foundation of Jackson Hole. Prior to leading this philanthropic organization known nationally for the highly successful Old Bill's Fun Run, Katharine was Executive Director of the Community Safety Network. She worked earlier in her career as a licensed clinical social worker with the Jackson Hole Community Counseling Center. She will serve on the Joint Compliance & Quality Committee and the Nominating & Governance Committee. She will chair the CEO Search Committee.

Pam Cutler

Pamela Cutler, MD, Board Advisor

Dr. Cutler has worked in and directed rural and urban Emergency Departments in the western United States for over 25 years. She is an experienced administrative and clinical leader with specific interests in rural health care and patient safety. Dr. Cutler has served on numerous boards, including her recent roles as President of the Montana Medical Association Board of Trustees and as a member of the Blue Cross Blue Shield of Montana Community Advisory Board. At Presbyterian Healthcare, an eight-hospital system serving the state of New Mexico, Dr. Cutler was charged with patient safety, risk management, and quality improvement. For the past seven years, she worked as the President of Western Montana Clinic, an independent multi-specialty medical group in Missoula. Dr. Cutler graduated from the College of William and Mary, received her M.D. degree from the University of Virginia, and completed her residency in Emergency Medicine at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque. She will serve on the Strategy, HR Committee.

Jim Hunt

Jim Hunt, Board Advisor

Jim has been a part of the Jackson Hole community for more than 20 years. He has significant board leadership experience, having served on over 20 corporate and not-for-profit boards, Locally, he has served on the boards of the Jackson Hole Historical Society & Museum and Friends of Pathways. He is currently the Non-Executive Board Chairman of Hunt Companies, Inc and has spent his career in corporate finance. He earned his MBA at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. Jim will serve on the Finance, IT, Facilities Committee and the Nominating & Governance Committee.

Evan Jones

Evan Jones

Evan has more than 30 years of experience in the life sciences industry, including founding and managing roles as Chairman and CEO of Digene, a company that helped bring diagnostic testing for cervical cancer to clinical markets. He is a managing member of jVen Capital, a life sciences investment company. He was a board member and Vice Chairman of the Board for the Children's National Hospital. Evan has extensive experience serving on public company and not for profit boards. Through his community service and philanthropy, he has helped improve healthcare for children and increase investment in disease control, prevention, and biomedical research. He will serve on the Finance, IT, Facilities Committee and the CEO Search Committee.

Vance Vanier

Vance Vanier, MD

Dr. Vanier's career in healthcare and innovation has spanned over two decades, encompassing the roles of physician, entrepreneur, CEO, and investor. Dr. Vanier received his MD from the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine and an MBA from Stanford University. He is co-founder and Co-Managing Director of Chicago Pacific Founders, a private equity firm focused on health services and senior living. He will serve on the Strategy, HR Committee.

About the SJH Board of Trustees and Advisors

The Board leadership of St. John's Health comprises seven volunteer Trustees elected by Teton County, WY, voters for four-year terms. Trustees include: Chair Cynthia Hogan; Vice Chair Debby Hopkins; Treasurer Scott Gibson; Secretary Sue Critzer; Michael Tennican; Bruce Hayse, MD; and Katharine Conover-Keller. Conover-Keller will complete the term of Trustee Joe Albright and participate in the Teton County, WY general election in November 2022 to continue her service.

The volunteer Board Advisor group comprises five appointed individuals, plus the SJH Chief of the Medical Staff and the Chair of the St. John's Health Foundation. The following individuals serve as Board Advisors: Bob Hopkins; Jim Hunt; Vance Vanier, MD; Evan Jones; Pamela Cutler, MD; Jim Little Jr., MD (Chief of Medical Staff); and Bob Pisano (Foundation Chair).

To learn more about all St. John's Health Trustees and Advisors, visit